DIY Giant Planter without breaking the bank!

Hello everyone! I got a maple tree on sale last fall and meant to re-pot it. I have limited yard space and I much rather grow stuff that I can eat. I started looking around and all the large planter pots are expensive! So what does a gal do? Repurpose a trash can!

I started with a galvanized trash can from Lowes (about $25). I also got casters as I wanted to be able to move the planter. This is important especially after the plants get huge!

DSCF0120

Place the caster on the bottom of the trash can. Use a sharpie pen to mark out the holes. Pre-drill. Be careful! Wear eye protection when drilling!

DSCF0121

DSCF0128

Use screws and nuts to hold the casters in place.

DSCF0125

Here are all the casters attached.

DSCF0126

Then I added epoxy to the edges to secure it further.

DSCF0139

As you can see, the maple tree is root bound already. So just cut the bottom of the roots. Don’t worry about hurting the plant, the roots will regrow as long as you don’t cut too much.

DSCF0137

I used coffee filters to line the bottom so my ‘soil’ doesn’t fall out!

DSCF0138

Adding the ‘soil’. It’s not really soil. I mixed my potting media using Mel’s mix (square foot gardening).

DSCF0143

Here is it. A giant planter that is movable and will last for many years without breaking the bank!

Enjoy~

4 thoughts on “DIY Giant Planter without breaking the bank!

Leave a Reply

