Day 15 of simplifying my life – Family

I’m very happy to report that decluttering my clothes have been a relatively successful venture. πŸ™‚ My ‘maybe’ jeans/casual pants box is down to 2 and I kept only 2 pairs so far πŸ™‚

I dropped off 2 bags of clothes at the Salvation Army with my parents and guess what? We came home with 5 bags of stuff 😦 My mom purchased 4 bags & I got 1 bag. Granted that 3 bags were stuff that I needed and was intending to buy elsewhere. That left me with 2 bags that wasn’t necessary at all.

That brings me to the heart of today’s topic. What if you are on this simplifying mission and your husband/significant other/parents/family are not?

I have come to the realization that you can bring a horse to water but you can’t force them to drink. You had an epiphany that brought you on this path of simplifying your life. But you can’t convince someone else to have an epiphany. They have to come to it on their own. The more you push, the more resistance you create. Hence I hope you will have the serenity to accept what is, lead them by example and hope that things will change one day πŸ™‚ Good luck!

Leave a Reply

