Day 8 of simplifying my life – Decluttering = Wasteful?

Big opps! I published the wrong post! 😀 Here is today’s post! 😀

 

I was talking to someone the other day about my goal to simplify my life and one of the things she mentioned was how wasteful she thinks decluttering is. “You’re getting rid of stuff that you paid good money for!!!” she exclaimed. That was an ‘Ah ha!’ moment for me. I didn’t realize that I had been holding onto some of my stuff just because of this reason.

I pondered and reflected upon this as this was a conundrum for me. Then I realized, the waste was when you bought the item (something that you didn’t really need). It’s not when you are getting rid of it!

Below are the insights I got and perhaps they will help you 🙂

  • Learn your lesson. Realize that you shouldn’t have purchased those stuff in the first place. Avoid doing this in the future by buying as little as you possibly can.
  • Realize that keeping the items is wasteful. If you keep stuff you don’t need, it costs you money in terms of storage (you buy stuff to store the items aka container store). You pay to maintain it by using your valuable time to clean it, to walk around the *coughs* obstacle. This is so true for me — trying to find something that you know you have but don’t know where it is? You have to literally go through stuff that you think it might be amongst. All these are your time (therefore money) and energy that’s wasted!
  • Someone else will use it. Realize that donating the item means that someone else will be getting good use out of it. The item that is just clutter or excess in your home could be someone else’s treasure! So set your item free and feel good that you are helping the charities that you donate to (Goodwill, Salvation Army, etc)
  • Box it up. For your items that you’re unsure about and is a maybe, box it up and stick a date that is 3-6 months (depends on how fast you want to pare down) down the road. Then seal the box with tape. When the date is up, just take the box down to Goodwill, Salvation Army, etc. If you didn’t need anything from the box in the 3-6 months that it’s been boxed up, you probably don’t need it. Exception: Seasonal items.
  • Don’t let your possessions own you. If you are holding onto stuff because you feel you have to. Your stuff is owning you instead of vice versa. Let go of your stuff and be free.

Once you managed to clear your home of clutter, you can kick back and relax. Sip a cup of tea and enjoy the space you have that’s filled with things that bring you joy and happiness. Good luck!

2 thoughts on “Day 8 of simplifying my life – Decluttering = Wasteful?

  1. This is one of the reasons I keep a lot of stuff that I don’t need, but if I end up donating it it doesn’t seem like a waste at all. In Japan I had to get rid of a lot of stuff and couldn’t find anywhere that would take donations, throwing so much away left me feeling a little ill…

    Whenever I read about your decluttering I’m reminded of this quote from William Morris:
    “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.”
    It helps me a lot if I need to clear out!

Leave a Reply

